TOWN OF FALMOUTH

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Falmouth Town Council held in the Council Chamber, Municipal Buildings, Falmouth on Monday 10th May 2010 at 7.00 p.m.

PRESENT

Councillors: A K Ayres, Mrs A J Biggins, Mrs J A Booth, I J Body, G W Chin-Quee,

O K Cramp, Mrs M Davies, B Elliott, S D Eva, Mrs V E Eva, G F Evans,

A J Jewell, Ms D Merrett, Mrs M Ryan and Dr D A Sterratt.

In Attendance: A M Williams (Town Clerk)

Richard Gates (Town Manager)

Inspector Trott (Falmouth Police Station)

Station Officer Barrett (Falmouth Fire and Rescue)

Reverend B Bennetts (Mayor's Chaplain)

Vol. 9

C3812 PRAYERS

Prior to the formal commencement of the Meeting prayers were said by the Mayor's Chaplain.

C3813 ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

The Chair invited nominations for Town Mayor. There being one valid nomination received.

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs Davies, seconded by Councillor Body and

RESOLVED that Councillor Geoffrey Frank Evans be elected Town Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Evans duly read and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as Town Mayor.

The Town Mayor thanked all his guests for attending including the Deputy Lord Lieutenant, High Sherriff of Cornwall and Mayors of Penryn, Helston and Camborne.

He reported on his year of office following the surprise resignation of his predecessor and other issues that the Council had to tackle.

He had undertaken many civic functions and was pleased with the continuing success of Falmouth Art Gallery. He thanked all the Council staff and Councillors for their assistance and support, particularly the Deputy Mayor and his Consort.

Highlights were the shuttle bus provision, the Scillonian discussions, Gyllyngdune project, rail line improvements, Trescobeas project, Britain in Bloom success and the Community Plan.

C3814 APOLOGIES

None received.

The Town Mayor advised that regrettably the Chairman of Cornwall Council had been unable to attend.

C3815 INTERESTS

None received

C3816 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Town Mayor invited nominations for Deputy Mayor. There being one valid nomination received

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs Ryan, seconded by Councillor Ms Merrett and

RESOLVED that Councillor Ivor John Body be elected Deputy Mayor for the ensuing municipal year.

C3817 APPOINTMENT OF STANDING COMMITTEES

It was proposed by Councillor S D Eva, seconded by Councillor Mrs Davies and

RESOLVED that the Standing Committees be appointed for the ensuing year as set out at Appendix I that forms part of these minutes.

C3818 APPOINTMENT OF WORKING PARTIES AND SUB-COMMITTEES

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs V E Eva, seconded by Councillor Sterratt and

RESOLVED that the Working Parties and Sub-Committees be appointed for the ensuing year as set out at Appendix II that forms part of these minutes.

C3819 REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs V E Eva, seconded by Councillor Ms Merrett and

RESOLVED that the representatives on outside bodies be appointed to serve for the ensuing year as appropriate, as set out at Appendix III that forms part of these minutes.

C3820 COUNCILLOR CHAMPIONS

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs V E Eva, seconded by Councillor Mrs Booth and

RESOLVED that the Councillor Champions be appointed to serve for the ensuing year as set out at Appendix IV that forms part of these minutes.

C3821 SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS 2010/11

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs V E Eva, seconded by Councillor Body and

RESOLVED that the Schedule of Meetings for the ensuing year as set out as Appendix V that forms part of these minutes be approved.

C3822 TOWN MAYORS COMMENTS

The Town Mayor thanked his supporters and looked forward to the year ahead. He recognised that dredging of the harbour was crucial as was the maintenance and promotion of Falmouth beaches and attractions.

He looked forward to engaging with Cornwall Council to run local projects together.	
There being no further business the Town Mayor declared the meeting closed at 7.15pm.	
Signed:	Date: